This Guy is Clearly A Retard (Email from K, 8:55 a.m.)

K: Look at this.

S:

“You gotta understand,” said Worley. “I lived through the Beatles era and saw them perform live many times, so I think I’ve earned the right to speak on the subject.”

Um. No. You clearly have not.

“Keep in mind the Beatles were together 10 years but much of their success hinged on the mystique surrounding them.”

Um. No. Actually, the Beatles’ seeming accessibility to — despite their actual distance from — their fans is a great reason why they out-populared other bands of the time.

“If you have ever been to a JoBros show you would know what I mean,” he said. “They electrify the crowd with their performance in an almost supernatural fashion. Now John Lennon and McCartney were good, but they just lacked that connection with their audience.”

Um. No. You have clearly never ACTUALLY been to a Beatles concert, Weird Guy. I’d be happy to lend you my copy of the Anthology to help you along.

“People argue with me all the time,” said Worley. “They say a 68 year old man shouldn’t even be going to a Jonas Brother show. I fire right back at them that I will go where I want and that’s to see the greatest band ever assembled, the Jonas Brothers. If they persist in giving me a hard time I kindly tell them to keep their opinions to themselves.”

I think that hits on exactly where he’s so very, very wrong (aside from all the other ways he’s so very, very wrong): The Beatles were not an “assembled” band. They were a band-band. They made themselves. All by themselves.

Also, I would like to reiterate his own sentiment back at him: Please, for the love of god, Weird Guy, KEEP YOUR OPINIONS TO YOURSELF.

K: pedophile.

S: Ha!

–S

2 Responses

  1. You shouldn’t be calling anyone a retard. What a lame response. People with special needs can’t help how they were born. By calling someone a retard because you think they said something stupid, you show your ignorance and hatred. Yuck.

  2. Obviously you have a sensitivity to this issue, but you have to understand the difference between using a word as a slang colloquialism and using it in a defamatory way towards people who are born with special needs. I am not ignorant nor hate-filled, and you clearly need a sense of humor.

    I don’t think this blog is what you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

